Mon, 19 Sep 2022

CSA T20: Everything you need to know about the SA20 Auction

Cricket South Africa launched an ambitious new T20 league earlier this year. The league will witness 6 teams look to claim the biggest T20 prize in South African domestic cricket. South Africa had hosted their T20 tournaments based on the franchise league a few times before, but did not find the right kind of results.

Which are the Six teams playing the tournament?

The Six teams playing the tournament are. Durban Super Giants, Joburg Super Kings, MI Cape Town, Paarl Royals, Pretoria Capitals and Sunrisers Eastern Cape. These 6 teams have already picked their early player picks before the auction could take place.

The Indian Premier League Connect –

South African Cricket’s announcement at the start of a new league, started the mad rush to buy the teams. Franchise owners of several Indian Premier League sides were quick off the blocks. Mumbai Indians picked up Cape Town, while Chennai Super Kings took over Joburg. Rajasthan Royals went for Paarl, while GMR group went for Pretoria, the South African capital. The owners of Lucknow Super Giants went for Durban, while Sun TV and Maran family got the Eastern Cape.

What is the league called? When and where the auctions will be held?

The newest T20 league from South Africa will be called, SA20. The tournament will witness its first ever player drafts or auctions. The auctions will be held on 19th September, 2022 in South Africa.

When will the league be played?

The league is slated to start from January 2023 and will run up to February with 5 teams playing the round robin, home and away phase before the tournament finishes with the knock out matches,

How many players will go under the hammer?

The first ever SA20 auction will witness 318 players go under the hammer at the Cape Town International Convention center on Monday. The fate of 318 players will decided when the team coaches and owners descend on to Cape Town.

What time is the auction and where can we watch it?

The auction starts 2PM South Africa time and 530 PM Indian Standard Time. Sony Sports India will telecast the auctions live, while Sony LIV will be showing the broadcast live for OTT platforms.

Has any Indian registered himself for the SA20?

Despite the recent retirements of Suresh Raina and Robin Uthappa, the former CSK duo haven’t put their names up for the auction. However Unmukt Chand is part of the auction process. The former India Under-19 skipper though has now taken the USA route to get there. Chand also played in the BBL last year, becoming the first Indian born men’s player to do so.

Who are the first-round picks before the auctions?

Durban Super Giants – Quinton De Kock (SA), Jason Holder (WI), Kyle Mayers (WI), Reece Topley (WI) and Prenelan Subrayen (SA). Coach – Lance Klusener

Joburg Super Kings – Faf Du Plessis (SA), Maheesh Theekshana (SL), Romario Shepherd (WI) and Gerald Coetzee (SA). Coach – Stephen Fleming

MI Cape Town – Kagiso Rabada (SA), Dewald Brevis (SA), Rashid Khan (AFG), Sam Curran and Liam Livingstone (ENG). Coach – Simon Katich

Paarl Royals – David Miller (SA), Jos Buttler (ENG), Obed McCoy (WI) and Corbin Bosch (SA). Coach – JP Duminy

Pretoria Capitals – Anrich Nortje and Migael Pretorius (SA). Coach – Graham Ford

Sunrisers Easten Cape – Aiden Markram and Ottneil Baartman (SA) – Coach Adrian Birrell.