Aug 24, 2022, 22:36 IST

Ignored Indian domestic player posts a heartbreaking tweet after selectors snub


Indian cricket is a wagon which never stops moving and the Indian selectors on Wednesday, named a team to take on New Zealand A. The Kiwi A team will play 3 unofficial 4 day games and 3 ODI games. Red ball matches will be played at Bengaluru, while Chennai will host the three match ODI series. The series is a good chance for those players who are on the fringes of selection to the senior team. While the squad has some known faces, there is one player who has yet again been overlooked.

The story as it happened –

Sheldon Jackson, the 35 year old from Saurashtra has always been looked at as an untapped potential. Jackson, who was part of the KKR team this year caught the eyes of the fans and experts with his exploits behind the stumps. Sadly the selectors failed to notice him yet again. Jackson was cast aside and not named in the squad for the New Zealand A tour of India which is to start from the 1st of September. Following this snub, the 35 year old took to twitter to post his anguish.

Jackson’s heartbreaking tweet –

Sheldon Jackson took to twitter and wrote “I have a right to believe and dream that if I have performed for 3 continuous seasons, I may get picked on the basis of my performances not age. Tired of hearing this that I’m a good player and performer but I’m old, I’m 35 not 75”. The tweet has gained massive likes from the fans who can feel the pain behind the constant snub the man from Saurashtra has got from the Indian selectors. Jackson has played 79 domestic games and scored 5947 runs with 19 centuries and 31 half centuries with an average of 50. He also has 57 catches and 2 stumpings and is considered a good wicket keeper.

Priyank Panchal to lead the side –

32 year old Gujarat Opener, Priyank Panchal has been named the skipper of the red ball side. The squad also has the likes of Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rajat Patidar, Srikar Bharat. Kuldeep Yadav is also part of the team along with Rahul Chahar as the spin options. Prasidh Krishna, Umran Malik and Yash Dayal are the fast bowling options along with Arzan Nagwaswalla.

India A Squad – P. Panchal (Captain), A. Eeswaran, R.Gaikwad, R. Patidar, Sarfaraz Khan, T.Varma, S. Bharat, U. Yadav, S. Kumar, K. Yadav, R. Chahar, P. Krishna, Um. Malik, Y. Dayal, M. Kumar and A. Nagwaswalla