Thu, 24 Nov 2022

India tour of NZ 2022: Preview for the 1st ODI for India vs New Zealand


The T20 series between India and New Zealand ended with the Indian team winning it 1-0. Two games went kaput due to the rains which played a role during the 1st and 3rd T20.

The focus for the two teams tomorrow shifts to the Eden park ground as they train their eyes on the biggest prize which is to be played in 2023. The India vs New Zealand series may not have too much on paper, but for the players it is a different story.

Venue – Eden Park, Auckland

Time – 7 AM IST

Likely weather and pitch conditions –

It has been raining heavily in New Zealand and Auckland faced some rains on Thursday. The game might see some interruptions during the course of the game. The team winning the toss might choose to bowl first under the cloudy conditions. The average score in the ground is 217 and the average run rate is under 5 runs per over. It is also a chasing ground with 340 being chased by the Kiwis against Australia in 2007.

Likely India XI –

Shubman Gill, Shikhar Dhawan, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson, Deepak Hooda, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh and Yuzvendra Chahal.

Likely New Zealand XI –

Finn Allen, Devon Conway, Kane Williamson, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham, Glenn Phillips, Michael Bracewell, Mitchell Santner, Adam Milne, Tim Southee and Lockie Ferguson.

Head to Head record –

Matches played – 110

Wins for India – 55

Wins for New Zealand – 49

Tied Games – 1

No Result – 5

Games at Eden Park between the two teams –

Matches played – 9

Wins for NZ – 5

Wins for India – 3

Tied Games – 1

Eden Park ODI record –

Matches played – 77

Wins for home team – 35

Wins for away team – 35

Wins by neutral side – 2

Tied games – 2

No result – 3

Wins after batting first – 30

Wins after batting 2nd -42

Wins after winning the toss – 37

Wins after losing the toss – 35

Highest individual score by a batter – 146* by Marcus Stoinis vs NZ in 2017

Best bowling figures – 6/28 by Mitchell Starc vs NZ in 2015

Highest scorer by a team at the venue – 340/5 by NZ vs AUS in 2007

Approaching Milestones –

·Devon Conway needs 33 runs to score 3500 List A runs

·Lockie Ferguson needs 2 wickets to complete 150 wickets in List A cricket

·Tom Latham needs 5 catches to complete 100 catches in ODI cricket

·James Neesham needs 4 wickets to complete 150 wickets in List A cricket

·Tim Southee needs 1 wicket to complete 200 wickets in ODI cricket

·Southee will become the 5th bowler to achieve this feat, with Daniel Vettori, Kyle Mills, Chris Harris and Chris Cairns having done it before

·Shikhar Dhawan needs 47 runs to score 12000 runs in List A cricket

·Chahal needs 7 wickets to reach 200 wickets in List A cricket

·Sanju Samson needs 22 runs to score 3000 runs in List A cricket

·Shubman Gill needs 2 sixes to reach 50 sixes in List A cricket

·Surya Kumar Yadav needs 10 sixes to reach 100 sixes in List A cricket