Sep 23, 2022, 19:56 IST

Indian Cricket: Everything you need to know about the 2nd T20 between India and Australia


The first T20 between reigning T20m champs Australia and India was a high scoring thriller. The match at IS Bindra stadium saw over 400 runs being scored as both the teams traded blows. India scored a massive 208 on the board with Pandya scoring 71*. KL Rahul scored a half century as Surya Kumar Yadav to played a useful knock. Chasing 209, it was Cameron Green’s 1st half century and late dash from Wade which turned the match to the visitors for a 4-wicket win.

 Venue for the game – VCA Stadium Nagpur

Date of the Game -23rd September,2022

Timing of the Game – 19:30 Hours Indian Standard Time

Likely Pitch Condition – The VCA stadium hasn’t seen any cricket for nearly 3 years. The last game hosted here was against Bangladesh when Deepak Chahar picked 6 wickets for 7 runs including a hattrick. The track record of the ground though is the team batting first wins the game with 9 out of 12 occasions, such a result has been witnessed. The pitch is usually low scoring, chasing will be the preferred mode once again. There is dew expected towards the 2nd half off the innings.

Record at the VCA Stadium at Nagpur –

T20I Matches played at the venue – 12

Games won by batting first – 9

Games won by batting second – 3

T20I games won by India at Nagpur – 2

T20 I games won by visitors – 2

Other neutral teams – 8

India’s record at VCA Stadium Nagpur – India have played 4 games, lost two against Sri Lanka and New Zealand. Have won their last two games at this venue by beating England in 2017 and Bangladesh in 2019.

Highest scorer for India at this venue – 71- by KL Rahul against England in 2017

Best bowling figures at VCA Stadium Nagpur – Deepak Chahar – 6/7 vs Bangladesh 2019

Sixes Hit at the VCA Stadium Nagpur – in the 12 games played at this venue only 82 sixes have been hit so far. That is nearly 7 sixes at the venue as the ground is big in size and big hits don’t come easy.

Likely XIs for the game –

India – Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-Captain), Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik (WK), Axar Patel, Harshal Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal and Jasprit Bumrah

Australia – Aaron Finch (Captain), Cameron Green, Steve Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Josh Inglis, Tim David, Matthew Wade (WK), Adam Zampa, Pat Cummins, Nathan Ellis and Josh Hazlewood.

India’s recent form in T20I’s – L, W, L, L, W

Australia’s recent form in T20I’s – W, L, W, W, W.

India and Australia head-to-head record –

Matches played -24

Wins for India -13

Wins for Australia -10

No Result -1

Approaching milestones –

·Josh Hazlewood is 2 wickets away from 50 wickets in T20I cricket

·Ashton Agar is 3 wickets away from 50 wickets in T20I cricket

·Pat Cummins is 6 wickets away from 50 wickets in T20I cricket

·Hardik Pandya is 45 runs away from scoring 1000 runs in T20I cricket

·Surya Kumar Yadav needs 1 more six to reach the 50 sixes mark in this format

·Aaron Finch is 123 runs away from 3000 T20I runs

·Steve Smith is 37 runs away from 1000 T20I runs

·Glenn Maxwell needs 1 more six to reach the 100 sixes mark in this format

·Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Yuzvendra Chahal are both tied with 84 wickets for India in this format

·If either of them picks two more wickets they will break into the top ten all time leading wicket takers list

·Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal and Sandeep Lamichhane with 85 wickets are ahead of the Indian duo