Dec 29, 2022, 08:42 IST

Indian Cricket: Ranji Round up of the action so far from the 3rd round of matches


The 3rd round of Ranji matches began on Tuesday in the Ranji Trophy and lets take a look at all the action that has unfolded so far.

Mizoram vs Sikkim – Rangpo

Mizoram batted first and were bowled out for 263 with Taruwar Kohli top scoring with 94. In reply Sikkim were bowled out for 176 in the 1st innings as Sumit Singh was out for 99 off 133 balls. Avinash Yadav was the star performer with the ball for Mizoram with 5/71.

Mizoram leads Sikkim by 87 runs

Nagaland vs Bengal – Dimapur

Nagaland batted first and were bowled out for 166 with Chetan Bisht top scoring with 64. Pradipta Pramanik’s 6/43 did the damage for the Bengal bowlers. At the end of day 2, Bengal were 336/4 with Abhimanyu Eeswaran scoring 170 (218 B with 16x4) and S. Gharami scoring 104 (178B with 11x4 and 1x6).

Bengal leads Nagaland by 170 runs

Punjab vs Tripura – Agartala

Murasingh continued his rich bowling form with 5/48 to bowl out Punjab for mere 203. Prabhsimran Singh with 55 and Mandeep Singh with 41 were the top scorers for the visitors. At stumps Tripura were 17 for none after 7 overs of play.

Tripura trails Punjab by 186 runs

Services vs Jharkhand – Jamshedpur

4 half centuries from the services batters helped them post 367 in the 1st innings. S. Alam with 58 followed by 60 by GR. Singh and 76 by Rajat Paliwal as well as 69 by Mohit Rathee were the main contributors for the visiting side. Anukul Roy did the star turn with the ball by picking 6/67. Jharkhand at stumps on day 2 were 228/4 with their top 3 scoring fifties. Kumar Suraj was not out on 75, while Kumar Deobrat scored 62 and Virat Singh scored 56. Ishan Kishan was out for 13.

Jharkhand trains services by 139 runs

Maharashtra vs Andhra – Vizag

Maharashtra batted first and scored 200 in their 1st innings as S. Nawale top scored with 70. Nitish Reddy picked 5/53 for the hosts, as they took a 11 run lead after being bowled out for 211. Karan Shinde with 52, Hanuma Vihari with 49 and KV Shasikant with 48 were the lead scorers. In the 2nd innings, Maharashtra were 89/1 with Ruturaj Gaikwad on 51* at stumps.

Maharashtra leads Andhra by 78 runs

Bihar vs Meghalaya – Shillong

Bipin Saurabh’s 107 and fifties by Sachin Kumar (52) and Sakibul Gani (56) saw Bihar post 264 in the 1st innings. In response Meghalaya were bowled out for 167 as Raj Biswa with 56 and Dipu Sangma with 57 led the effort with the bat for the hosts. Armed with a lead of 97, Bihar extended their advantage as they were 73/3 in their 2nd dig.

Bihar leads Meghalaya by 170 runs.

Haryana vs Odisha – Cuttack

Nishant Sindhu continued his good form by stroking career best 142 (215B with 21x4 and 2x6) to reach 338. RP Sharma with 55 and Jayant Yadav with 41 were the other top scorers. For the home team the lead wicket taker was Pradhan with 6/93. Odisha began well with 63 by A. Sarangi and 60 by S. Mishra as Yuzvendra Chahal picked 2 wickets.

Odisha trails Haryana by 134 runs

Himachal Pradesh vs Uttarakhand -Dehradun

8/35 by Deepak Dhapola bowled out Himachal for 49 in the 1st innings. In reply Aditya Tare with 92 and Abhay Negi with 336 helped the home team take a lead of 287. Himachal came out better in the 2nd innings with Akash Vashist batting on 73

Himachal trails Uttarakhand by 10 runs

Arunachal Pradesh vs Manipur – Anand

Arunachal batted first and were bowled out for 233 before Manipur took a lead of 54 when bowled out for 287. K. Sheinbhagam top scored with 91 along with Kishan Singha who scored 58. Arunachal in their 2nd dig were 20/0 at the end of the 2nd day’s play.

Arunachal trails Mizoram by 34 runs

Jammu and Kashmir vs Vidarbha – Nagpur

Batting first J and K were all out for 191 in the 1st innings with Ajaz top scoring with 41. Yash Thakur picked 4 wickets, while Bhute and Sarwate picked 3 each. In reply, Vidarbha scored 272 with half centuries by Sarwate (75), Taide (74) and Harsh Dubey (55) to gain a lead of 81. In their 2nd innings J and K were 77/3 at the close of play on day 2.

Vidarbha leads J and K by 4 runs

Railways vs MP – Delhi

batting 1st. Railways scored 274 thanks to the 61 by Upendra Yadav with the bat as Avesh Khan picked 4/69 with the ball. At stumps on day 2, MP were 243/9 with Rajat Patidar top scoring with 54.

MP trails Railways by 31 runs.

Chandigarh vs Gujarat – Ahmedabad

Chandigarh batted 1st and scored 304 thanks to 87 by B. Lather and 56 by A. Khan and 51 by G. Puri. In reply Priyank Panchal’s 87 not out and 62 by Priyesh Patel helped Gujarat score 249/3 at close of play.

Gujarat trails Chandigarh by 55 runs

Kerala vs Chhattisgarh – T’Puram

Jalaj Saxena’s 5/48 helped the home team skittle out the visitors for 149 in their 1st innings with Harpreet Bhatia scoring 40. In reply 77 each by R. Prem and Sachin Baby and 46 by Sanju Samson helped Kerala take a lead of 162 runs. In the 2nd innings, Chhattisgarh lost both their openers for a duck to be placed at 10/2 at stumps.

Kerala leads CHG by 152 runs

UP vs Baroda – Vadodara

Batting first, UP were all out for 258 with A. Nath top scoring with 71 and P. Garg scoring 52. In reply the home team scored 221/6 with N. Rathva batting on 93 at stumps on day 2.

UP leads Baroda by 37 runs

Assam vs Hyderabad – Hyderabad

Assam batted 1st and were bowled out for 205 with Puryakastha top scoring with 83 (88B with 11x4 and 3x6) in reply HYD took a lead of 3 runs with Rohit Rayudu top scoring with 60. In the 2nd innings, Riyan Parag went after the home team scoring 78 off 28 balls with 8 fours and 6 sixes.

Assam leads HYD by 179 runs

Delhi vs TN – Delhi

Batting first Delhi scored 303 thanks to trio of fifties by the home team batters. Dhruv Shorey with 67 followed by 57 from Jonty Sidhu and 58 by Vijayran were the lead scorers for the home team. in reply, the Baba twins scored fifties with captain Indrajith scoring 71 and Aparjith scoring 57.

Delhi leads TN by 89 runs

Saurashtra vs Mumbai – Mumbai

The visitors batting first scored 289 all out thanks to 75 by Arpit Vasavda as Shams Mulani picked 4/109. In reply, Mumbai were all out for 230 as Surya Kumar Yadav scored 95 and Sarfaraz Khan scored 75. Shams Mulani did the damage again with 4 wickets as Saurashtra ended day 2 at 120/6.

SAU leads Mumbai by 179 runs.

Goa vs Karnataka – Porvorim

Manish Pandey scored 208 not out (186 B with 14x4 and 11x6) and 140 by R. Samarth along with 50 by Mayank Agarwal and 91 by V. Onat helped Karnataka reach a massive 603. In reply Goa were 45/1 at stumps with AS Desai out for 5.

Goa trails KAR by 558 runs

Rajasthan vs Puducherry – Puducherry

The game ended in 2 days as Rajasthan came out on top with an innings win. Batting first Rajasthan scored 335 thanks to 96 by Manav Suthar and 94 Deepak Hooda. Manv Suthar then damaged the hosts with 8/33 with the ball to bowl them out for 104. Following on, Puducherry were all out for 130 with Suthar picking 3 more wickets to take his match haul to 11/62.

Rajasthan win the game by an innings and 101 runs.