Jan 14, 2023, 13:29 IST

Indian Cricket: Results round up of the games from the final day of play for the 5th round of Ranji Trophy


The 3rd day saw many of the games being finished with Karnataka, Puducherry, Haryana Manipur and Sikkim picking up wins. Saurashtra had already won on the 2nd day after they beat Hyderabad away from home.

Mumbai vs Assam – Guwahati

Assam began the day at 36/5 only to get bowled out for 189 during the final day. Assam were 98/8 at one stage but 75 run 9th wicket stand between skipper Gokul Sharma and Roshan Alam delayed the end. Sharma fell for 82 off 136 balls bowled by Musheer Khan caught by Armaan Jaffer. Musheer Struck again to get the final wicket of the game when he had last man H. Deka caught for 10.

Mumbai wins the game by an innings and 128 runs

Bengal vs Baroda – Bengal

Needing 124 runs to win with 7 wickets left, Bengal began the day with SK Gharami and Manoj Tiwary in the middle. The two saw out the early onslaught from the Baroda bowlers before winning the game. Gharami was not out on 79 off 140 balls with 11 fours and a six. Tiwary was not out on 60 from 118 balls with 8 fours.

Bengal wins the match by 7 wickets

Jharkhand vs Chhattisgarh – Jamshedpur

Chhattisgarh needed 357 to win and were 128 for 4 when stumps were called for on the 3rd day. Amandeep Khare tried to fightback with an amazing 151 off 283 balls with 16 fours and 3 sixes. Khare was the 9th wicket to fall, as he was caught by Virat Singh off Anukul Roy. It was the 5th wicket for Roy who ended with figures of 5/45 from his 26 overs.

Jharkhand wins the game by 44 runs

Bihar vs Mizoram – Nadiad

Starting the day at 144/3, Mizoram frustrated the Bihar bowlers to end the day at 379/6 to draw the match. Jehu Anderson top scored with 100 not out from 190 balls with 16 fours and a six. Avinash Yadav with 81 off 68 balls with 12 fours and 2 sixes was the 2nd top scorer.

Match ends in a draw as Bihar takes home the points on first innings lead

Tripura vs Railways – Surat

Tripura began the day at 304/4 with a lead of 63 with Sudeep Chatterjee on 104. The left hander scored 165 off 297 balls with 17 fours. Rajat Dey scored 89 off 212 balls with 10 fours, while Saha scored 53 off 116 balls with fours to gain a lead of 210 runs. Chasing 211 to win, Mohammad Saif led the chase with 69 not out off 76 balls with 5 fours and a six.

Railways won the game by 6 wickets

Madhya Pradesh vs Gujarat – Indore

Defending champions MP began the day at 189/2 and then went about scoring quick runs to declare at 280/6. Shubham Sharma was not out on 101 from 118 balls with 8 fours and 2 sixes. Chasing 382 to win, 4/64 by Saransh Jain and 3/41 by Gaurav Yadav bowled out Gujarat for 121.

MP win the game by 260 runs

Vidarbha vs Chandigarh – Chandigarh

No play was possible on the final day as bad weather played spoilsport to end the game in a draw.

Match ended in a draw

Punjab vs Jammu and Kashmir – Mohali

Jammu and Kashmir began the day at 18/1 still trailing Punjab by 38 runs. 89 off 122 balls with 10 fours and 2 sixes led the visitors to score 260 before getting bowled out. Baltej made it 10/92 for the game with yet another 5 wicket haul in the 2nd innings. Chasing 205 to win, Abhishek Sharma scored 83 off 47 balls with 9 fours and 4 sixes, as Mandeep Singh scored 45 off 39 balls to lead the Punjab team to a win in the 25th over.

Punjab win the game by 4 wickets

Services vs Kerala – T’Puram

Needing 321 with 10 wickets on the final day, Services were looking to cause a major upset. Jalaj Saxena though ripped through the visitors batting line up to pick 8/36 as Services was all out for 136 with Sufiyan Alam top scoring with 52.

Kerala wins the game by 204 runs

Odisha vs Himachal Pradesh – Nadaun

Himachal Pradesh took strike on the final day with 307 needed for a win. At one stage, HP was 10/4 but Ankit Kalsi and Skipper Rishi Dhawan added 203 for the 5th wicket in just 49 overs. Dhawan scored 102 off 156 balls with 15 fours, Kalsi stayed not out on 165 off 201 balls with 19 fours and 2 sixes.

HP wins the game by 3 wickets

Uttarakhand vs UP -Lucknow

Uttarakhand began the day at 65/2 before finishing scoring 172/4 as bad light stopped play and the game ended in a draw. Kunal Chandela with 56 and Swapnil Singh with 50 not out were the lead scorers.

Match ends in a draw

Delhi vs Andhra – Delhi

Delhi began the day at 300/4 as Dhruv Shorey scored 185 off 311 balls with 19 fours and a six. Himmat Singh scored 104 off 204 balls with 10 fours and 3 sixes. The last wicket pair of Harshit Rana (33*) and Divij Mehra (32*) took over from 423/9 still 36 behind Andhra. The pair added 65 runs and took the lead much to dismay of the Andhra team.

Maharashtra vs Tamil Nadu – Pune

Maharashtra batted the entire final day to end up at 364/5 as Ankit Bawne was not out on 152 off 259 balls with 13 fours and 3 sixes. Azim Kazi was not out 103 off 140 balls with 10 fours and 3 sixes.

Match ends in a draw