Dec 21, 2022, 10:21 IST

Indian Cricket: Round up of action from day 1 of the 2nd phase of games in Ranji Trophy 2022


The first round of Ranji Trophy 2022 season saw results come by with some exciting cricket across. The 2nd round of games began on Tuesday and here are some of the results from the 1st day.

Delhi vs Assam- Guwahati

Dhruv Shorey stole the show with an amazing century as Delhi ended the day at 271/7. Shorey scored 139 not out from 216 balls with 15 fours in his innings. Captain, Yash Dhull scored 22 while the 2nd highest scorer was V. Raval wit 43.

Sikkim vs Meghalaya – Shillong

Sikkim batted 1st and were bowled out for just 140 on the board. Rajesh Bishnoi picked 4 wickers, while Akash Chaudhary picked 3 wickets. Ankur Malik was the top scorer with 37. In their 1st innings, Meghalaya ended the day 46/3 with P. Tamang picking 3 wickets.

Meghalaya trails Sikkim by 94 runs with 7 wickets in hand.

UP vs Nagaland – Dimapur

Dhruv Jorel stole the show with an amazing double ton along with a century for Madhav Kaushik. UP openers added 247 for the 1st wicket with Kaushik scoring 107 off 172 balls with 10 fours a six. Jurel was not out on 243 off 323 balls with 26 fours and 2 sixes, Rinku Singh was not out on 95.  At Stumps UP were 400 from 90 overs for the loss of 3 wickets.

Bengal vs HP – Kolkata

Anustup Majumdar’s 159 from 207 balls with 21 fours and 2 sixes, saw Bengal end the day at 310/9. Shahbaz Ahmed scored 49 while Akash Deep scored 34 for Bengal. For HP, Siddharth Sharma picked 5/69.

Bihar vs Manipur – Ahmedabad

The first day’s play saw Bihar end proceedings on 293/7 with the top score of 156 by Babul Kumar. The opener scored his runs of 228 balls with 22 fours and 3 sixes, Rex Rajkumar was the lead wicket taker with 4/54.

Arunachal Pradesh vs Mizoram – Anand

4 wickets each by R. Ralte and T. Kohli helped Mizoram bowl out Arunachal fore mere 63 in their 1st innings. Mizoram ended the day with 5 wickets down with Taruwar Kohli batting on 90 with Sreevats Goswami scoring a quick 61 ball 50.

Mizoram leads Arunachal by 128 runs with 5 wickets in hand.

Punjab vs Railways – Delhi

17 wickets fell on day 1 at Delhi as Punjab were bowled out for 162. Adarsh Singh led the way for Railways with 5/65 as Abhishek Sharma top scored for Punjab with 36. Railways ended day 1 at 77/7 with Baltej Singh picking 4 wickets as Yuvraj Singh was the lead scorer with 26 not out.

Railways trail Punjab by 85 runs with 3 wickets in hand.

Vidarbha vs Tripura – Nagpur

Ajay Sarkar’s 6/74 bowled out Vidarbha for 264 in their 1st innings. The top scorer was A. Taide with 53 as A. Wankhede with 47 and A. Wadkar with 43 helped Vidarbha reach a decent total. At stumps, Tripura were 3/0 from 2 overs of play that was possible.

Tripura trails Vidarbha by 261 runs with 10 wickets in hand

Gujarat vs Jammu and Kashmir – Ahmedabad

54 by Kathan Patel and 52 by Priyank Panchal saw Gujarat end the day at 266/7 from the 90 overs. Saurav Chauhan was the top scorer as he scored 73, while Het Patel scored 39.

MP vs Chandigarh – Indore

Defending champs MP ended their 1st day at 289/7 with Sandeep Sharma wrecking havoc with 5/81. The lead scorer for MP was Rajat Patidar with 88, while Akshat Raghuvanshi was not out on 65.

Rajasthan vs Kerala - Jaipur

Kerala won the toss and chose to bowl and saw Rajasthan end the day at 310/7. Deepak Hooda scored 133 from 187 balls with 14 fours and a six, while Salman Khan was not out on 65. Jalaj Saxena was the lead wicket taker for Kerala with 3 wickets.

Puducherry vs Karnataka – Bangalore

Puducherry were bowled out for 170 thanks 4 wicket haul by Kaverappa. D. Rohit top scored for the visitors with 44. At stumps Karnataka were 111/1 with Mayank Agarwal out for 51. Samarth was not out on 59 along with night watchman Ronit More on 0.

Karnataka trails Puducherry by 59 runs with 9 wickets in hand.

Baroda vs Haryana – Vadodara

Baroda made use of their home conditions to end the day at 370/2 from their 90 overs. J. Singh was not out on 186 off 243 balls with 23 fours and 2 sixes, while fellow opener P. Kumar was out for 110. V. Solanki was not out on 60 as the home team had the upperhand.

Odisha vs Uttarakhand – Dehradun

4/48 by Swapnil Singh and 3/39 by Mayank Mishra bowled out Odisha for 213. Kartik Biswal top scored with 48, while Samantray scored 46. At Stumps the home team were 4/0 from the 4 overs bowled.

UTK trails Odisha by 209 runs with 10 wickets left

Andhra vs TN – Coimbatore

After a loss to Mumbai in their last game, Andhra ended the 1st day at 277/5 thanks to 85 by opener A. Reddy and 55 not out by Karan Shinde. Captain Hanuma Vihari scored 21 to continue his bad form with the bat.

Mumbai vs Hyderabad – Mumbai

Hyderabad won the toss and bowled first, as Mumbai raced to 457/3 from their 90 overs. Rahane was not out on 139 and Sarfaraz Khan was on 40 for Mumbai. Earlier Surya Kumar Yadav scored a quick 90 as Yashasvi Jaiswal scored 162 , with Shaw falling for 19.

Maharashtra vs Saurashtra – Rajkot

Maharashtra ended the 1st day at 253/2 with Ruturaj Gaikwad scoring 65. At stumps Naushad Shaikh was batting on 93 along with Ankit Bawne on 61.

Services vs Chhattisgarh – Delhi

5 wickets by Ravi Kiran and 3 wickets by Ajay Mandal bowled out Services for 213. A. Gupta top scored with 71 as D. Lochchab scored 53 for the home team. the visitors ended the day at 9 for no loss .

Chhattisgarh trails Services by 204 runs with 10 wickets left

Goa vs Jharkhand – Jamshedpur

Jharkhand ended the 1st day at 280/4 with Saurabh Tiwary and Kumar Kushagra batting. Mohit Redkar and Lakshay Garg had picked 2 wickets each for the visitors with Arjun Tendulkar yet to pick a wicket.