Jan 5, 2023, 08:22 IST

Indian Cricket: result recap from the 2nd day’s play of the 4th round of Ranji Trophy 2022


Chandigarh vs Tripura – Agartala

Only 28.4 overs were played as Chandigarh reached 455/3 with Manan Vohra out for 200 (313 B with 24x4 and 2x6). Kunal Mahajan was not out on 162 (213B with 24x4 and 1x6)

Andhra vs Hyderabad – Vizag

Nitish Reddy’s 4/64 helped the home team bundle out Hyderabad for just 197 with a lead of 62. For the visitors, M. Shashank top scored with 47. In reply Andhra batted well in their 2nd innings. CR Gnanseshwar scored 72 off 86 balls with 14 fours. At stumps, Indian test hopeful, KS Bharat was not out on 70 off 52 balls with 12 fours and 2 sixes along with Ricky Bhui on 41.  

Andhra leads HYD by 168 runs with 7 wickets left

Nagaland vs Odisha – Cuttack

Nagaland began the day 291/6 with Chetan Bisht on 94, and he went on to score 129(213B with 16x4 and 1x6). S.Rupero contributed with 71* off 174 balls as Nagaland were all out for 433. In reply Odisha were 111/0 from 31 overs with A. Sarangi on 75 and S. Mishra on 31

Odisha trails Nagaland by 322 with 10 wickets left

Bihar vs Sikkim – Patna

Only 35 overs were possible as Sikkim were reduced to 66/6 with Veer Pratap Singh picking 4/3 to have visitors reeling.

Bengal vs Uttarakhand – Dehradun

Starting the day at 269/3, Bengal could only add 118 runs to their overnight score as skipper A. Eeswaran was out for 165. Mayank Mishra picked 6/95 with the ball for Uttarakhand. In reply, 2 wickets each for Shahbaz Ahmed, Akash Deep and Pramanik had the hosts in trouble. At one stage, Uttarakhand were 48/8 but were rescued by an unbeaten 56 run stand between Kunal Chandela on 40 and Akhil Rawat on 32.

UTK trails Bengal by 283 runs with 4 wickets left

Meghalaya vs Arunachal Pradesh – Anand

Punit Bisht fell for 215 off (213 B with 37x4 and 1x6) helped Meghalaya score 610/6 declared. He was supported by T. Siddique who scored 102 not out off 189 balls with 13 fours and Rajesh Bishnoi’s 57 not out off 69 balls. In reply, Arunachal’s opener Anup Ahlawat scored 123 not out off 124 balls with 20 fours and 2 sixes out of the 148 scored by Arunachal.

ARP trails MGLY by 462 runs with 6 wickets left

Mizoram vs Manipur – Ahmedabad

P. Jotim’s 51 and 25 each by Rex Singh and Bikash Singh helped Manipur reach 277 to gain a 173 run lead over Mizoram. In reply, Mizoram were 79/3 with Sreevats Goswami on 30.

Mizoram trails Manipur by 94 runs with 7 wickets left

MP vs Vidarbha – Indore

MP added 75 runs to their overnight total of 234/6 to be bowled out for 309. Vidarbha faced resistance from Avesh Khan and Kumar Kartikeya who scored an identical 28 off 31 balls. Vidarbha then faced the fury of Avesh Khan who picked 5/32 as the visitors were reduced to 56/5 at one stage. At stumps, opener Sanjay Raghunath was on 53 off 174 balls with 4 fours to his name.

Vidarbha trails MP by 164 runs with 3 wickets left

Railways vs J and K – Surat

The 2nd day’s play began with Railways at 322/8 with Mohammad Saif on 161. Saif went on to score 233* (293 B with 30X4 and 3x6) to help Railways reach 427. Akash Pandey’s 6/49 destroyed Jammu and Kashmir as they were all out for 161 in their 1st innings. Asked to follow on, J and K were 5/0 in their 2nd dig.

J and K needs 261 to avoid follow with 10 wickets left

Punjab vs Gujarat – Valsad

Punjab scored just 10 runs more from their overnight score as they were bowled out for 286. Nehal Wadhera top scored with 123 as Chintan Gaja picked 5/66. In reply, Gujarat were all out for 97 as 7/28 by Baltej Singh did the trick for the visiting side. Punjab batted again and were 156/6 from 39 overs with Naman Dhir batting on 71*

Punjab leads Gujarat by 345 runs with 4 wickets left

Jharkhand vs Rajasthan - Jaipur

Karan Lamba led thew charge for Rajasthan scoring 122 not out of 184 balls with 14 fours and 3 sixes. The 9th wicket stand with Rituraj Singh was worth 76, while Lamba added 70 runs for the final wicket with Aniket Chaudhary. Singh scored 15 off 52 balls, while Chaudhary scored 22 of 31 balls. Ashish Kumar picked 5 wickets with the ball. Jharkhand made good start in their 2nd innings with openers adding 66.

JHA trails RAJ by 129 runs with 10 wickets left

Kerala vs Goa – T’Puram

Kerala could add just 18 runs more to their overnight score of 247 to be bowled out for 265. Goa, were 200/5 in their 1st innings, as Ishan Gadekar was batting on 76. Sijomon Joseph had picked 3 wickets for Kerala.

Goa trails KER by 65 runs with 5 wickers left

UP vs Haryana – Lucknow

After the 1st day being washed out, only 46 overs were played on the 2nd day, with Haryana reduced to 140/5. Aaquib Khan was the destroyer with 4/50 from his 13 overs as Ankit Kumar was not out on 80.

Baroda vs HP – Vadodara

Baroda scored 33 more runs to bowled out for 355 as Vishnu Solanki was out for 178. Raghav Dhawan with 56 and Ankit Kalsi on 53 supported Prashant Chopra who was batting on 111 not out from 225 balls with 10 fours and a six.

HP trails Baroda by 132 runs with 9 wickets left

Assam vs Maharashtra – Pune

Assam were bowled out for 274 as Maharashtra dominated the 2nd day’s play at Pune. Opener Siddesh Veer was on 94 not out off 274 balls with 6 fours and 2 sixes. Veteran India batter, Kedar Jadhav was not out on 142 off 146 balls with 14 fours and 6 sixes.

MAH leads Assam by 33 runs with 8 wickets left

Saurashtra vs Delhi – Rajkot

Delhi endured a hard day as they saw Saurashtra put Delhi to the sword to score 503/6. Harvik Desai was out for 107, as captain Arpit Vasavada was not out on 127 off 218 balls with 11 fours and a six. There were half centuries for Chirag Jani (75), Samarth Vyas (54) and Prerak Mankad with 64. Captain Unadkat was not out on 24 off 28 balls at stumps.

SAU leads Delhi by 370 runs with 4 wickets left

Mumbai vs TN – Mumbai

Mumbai began the day at 183/6 with 39 runs ahead of Tamil Nadu. The hosts then saw Sarfaraz Khan score 162 off 220 balls with 19 fours and a six. Tanush Kotian chipped in with 71 as Mohit Awasthi batting 9 scored 69 and Siddharth Raut scored 31 as the final wicket added 92 runs. In reply, Jagadeesan fell to Tushar Deshpande for 27.

TN trails Mumbai by 275 runs with 9 wickets left

Karnataka vs Chhattisgarh – Bengaluru

Starting the day at 267/5, Chhattisgarh were all out for 311 with Ashutosh Singh out for 135. Kaverappa continued his good bowling form with figures of 5/67. In reply Karnataka saw their skipper Mayank Agarwal strike form with 102 not out off 189 balls with 9 fours and 5 sixes. Ravi Samarth scored 81 as Karnataka just lost one wicket.

Karnataka trails CHG by 109 runs with 9 wickets left

Puducherry vs Services – Delhi

Centuries for GR Singh and Rajat Paliwal helped Services extend their advantage over Puducherry at the end of day. Singh scored 137 off 191 balls with 14 fours and 3 sixes, while Paliwal was not out on 101 off 183 balls with 9 fours.

SER leads PDC by 162 runs with 5 wickets left