Updated: Sep 16, 2022, 18:52 IST

Legends League Cricket 2022: Everything you need to know about the league


Indian cricket fans who love a dash of nostalgia, will get to witness some of the biggest names play once again. The likes of Gautam Gambhir and Virender Sehwag, Harbhajan Singh, Imran Tahir all set to grace the field and TV sets once again. Cricket fans across the world are already witnessing the God of Cricket, Sachin Tendulkar play in the ongoing Road Safety World Series.

Legend League Cricket 2021- the first season

First season of the Legends League Cricket was held in 2021, with 3 teams competing in the tournament. The teams in question were Indian Maharajas, World Giants and Asia Lions. The tournament was won by World Giants when they scored 256 runs in the final against Asia Lions. Corey Anderson scored 94*, while Asia Lions scored 231 with Mohammad Yousuf top scoring with 39.


The 2nd season of Legends League Cricket and the participating teams –

2022 will witness the league undergo a total revamp as there are 4 teams who play. India Capitals owned by the GMR Group (owner of Delhi Capitals). Bhilwara Kings, which is being owned by the Bhilwara Group. Manipal Tigers owned by the famous Manipal Education and Medical Group. The last team is the Adani owned Gujarat Giants.

Format of the league –

Each of the 4 teams will play 6 matches each during the league phase tournament. The matches will be taking place in some of the best grounds in the country. The league phase has been grouped into 2 phases. Round 1 will host a game everyday with one game being played. Round 2 will also have every game being played in the evening. There are rest days in the middle of the tournament.

Knockout phase –

The knock out phase will be just like the IPL play-offs. The first two teams play a game, while the loser of that game plays the 3rd place game in the eliminator. The winner of the eliminator game then goes on to the final.

Exhibition game to kick of Legends League Cricket 2022 –

The first game of the tournament is between Indian Maharajas and World Giants. The match will be played on 16th September, at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata. The match will begin at 7.30 PM IST.  The match is to celebrate the 75 years of Indian Independence.

The Indian Maharaja and World Giants squad –

Indian Maharajas team – V. Sehwag (Captain), M. Kaif, Y. Pathan, S. Badrinath, I. Pathan, P. Patel, S. Binny, Sreesanth, Harbhajan Singh, N. Ojha, A. Dinda, A. Jadeja, RP Singh, Joginder Sharma, RS Sodhi.

World Giants team – E. Morgan (Captain) J. Kallis, L. Simmons, H. Gibbs, S. Jayasuriya, M. Prior, N. McCullum, J. Rhodes, Muralitharan, D. Steyn, H. Masakadza, M. Mortaza, A. Afghan, M. Johnson, B. Lee. Kevin O Brien and D. Ramdin.

The squads of all the 4 teams –

India Capitals – Gautam Gambhir (captain), R. Bopara, P. Tambe, D. Ramdin, A. Afghan. M. Johnson, Plunkett, R. Bhatia, Masakadza, J. Mooney, P. Utseya, R. Taylor, Kallis, Maharoof, P. Singh, and Mashrafe Mortaza.

Bhilwara Kings – I. Pathan (Captain). Yusuf Pathan, Panesar, Naman Ojha, Porterfield, Fidel Edwards, Samit Patel, Matt Prior, Nick Compton, Sreesanth, Tim Bresnan, Owais Shah, Tino Best and Sudeep Tyagi.

Gujarat Giants – Virender Sehwag (Captain), Chris Gayle, Parthiv Patel, Ajanta Mendis, Bisla, Lendl Simmons, Mitchell McClenaghan, S. Binny, Vettori, Dinda, Kevin O Brien, Swann, Richard Levi, Joginder Sharma, Tremlett and Chigumbura.

Manipal Tigers – Harbhajan Singh (Captain), Lee, Sammy, Tahir, Corey Anderson, Mustard, Kaif, Sidebottom, Klusener, Mascarenhas, Kaluwitharana, Sodhi, Awana VRV Singh and Muralitharan.

Schedule of the tournament –

16th September 2022 – World Giants vs India Maharajas at Eden Gardens

17th September 2022 – India Capitals vs Gujarat Giants at Eden Gardens

18th September 2022 – Manipal Tiger vs Bhilwara Kings at Ekana Stadium Lucknow

19th September 2022 – Gujarat Giants vs Manipal Tiger at Ekana Stadium Lucknow

21st September 2022 – India Capitals vs Bhilwara Kings at Ekana Stadium Lucknow

22nd September 2022 – Gujarat Giants vs Manipal Tigers at Arun Jaitley Stadium

24th September 2022 – India Capitals vs Bhilwara Kings at Arun Jaitley Stadium

25th September 2022 – India Capitals vs Gujarat Giants at Arun Jaitley Stadium

26th September 2022 – Manipal Tigers vs Bhilwara Kings at Cuttack

27th September 2022 – Gujarat Giants vs Bhilwara Kings at Cuttack

29th September 2022 – India Capitals vs Manipal Tigers at Cuttack

30th September 2022 – Gujarat Giants vs Bhilwara Kings at Jodhpur

1st October 2022 – India Capitals vs Manipal Tigers at Jodhpur

Qualifier 1 – 2nd October 2022 – Team 1 vs Team 2 – Jodhpur

Elininator – 3rd October 2022 – Loser of Qualifier vs 3rd place team at Jodhpur

Final – 5th October 2022 – Winner of Qualifier vs Winner of Eliminator – Venue – TBD*

(All games to be played at 730 PM IST)

Live telecast on TV and OTT –

All the games to be broadcasted on Star Sports Network and Disney Hotstar on the OTT platform.