Dec 15, 2022, 18:22 IST

Ranji Trophy 2022: Round of Day 3 for the first round of games as Mumbai, MP and Chhattisgarh post massive wins


The 3rd day’s play saw three games coming up with result as defending champs Madhya Pradesh laid down the marker. Domestic heavyweights Mumbai too wrapped up the game at Vizag in a day full of wickets to claim a win. Here are the results from the end of day 3.

Manipur vs Sikkim – Rangpo

Manipur began the day at 59 for 4 and were bowled out for 193 with an overall lead of 159. P. Tamang with 5/52 and Sumit Singh 4/56 did the damage with the ball. Ronald Longjam top scored for Manipur with 50. Chasing 160 to win, Sikkim were 21 for no loss from the 9 overs at stumps

Sikkim needs 139 runs with ten wickets in hand

Bihar vs Arunachal Pradesh – Patna (Bihar Wins)

It was a memorable day for Bihar fans at Patna as the home won the game. Resuming on 367/4 with a lead of 155, Sachin Kumar’s 156 helped Bihar reach 515 before being bowled out. Malay Raj with 5/35 in 8.4 overs then bowled out Arunachal Pradesh for mere 84.

Bihar wins the match by an innings and 212 runs

Kerala vs Jharkhand – Ranchi

Resuming at 87/3, Jharkhand was bowled out for 340 giving the visitors a lead of 135. The top scorer was Ishan Kishan with 132 off 195 balls with 9 fours and 8 sixes. Saurabh Tiwari scored 97, as Jalaj Saxena picked 5/75. At stumps Kerala were 60/1 from 15 overs.

Kerala leads Jharkhand by 195 runs with 9 wickets in hand

Karnataka vs Services – Bengaluru

Karnataka bowlers bowled well to bowl out Services for 261 after the visitors began the day at 96/4. Rajat Paliwal was the lead scorer with 124. Karnataka armed with a 40 run lead had raced to 90 for no loss from 25 with Mayank Agarwal on 47 not out.

Karnataka leads Railways by 133 runs with ten wickets in hand

Vidarbha vs Railways – Nagpur

Captain Faiz Fazal scored his 2nd century of the game (103) as Akshay Wadkar scored 130 to help Vidarbha reach 420 for 8 declared. Chasing 473 to win, Railways were 3 wickets down from the 21 overs they had faced so far.

Railways need 426 runs more to win with 7 wickets in hand

Haryana vs Himachal Pradesh – Rohtak

Himachal Pradesh are on course for a win despite the stirring comeback by Haryana. The home team began the day at 72/1 with Chaitanya Bishnoi and Himanshu Rana the overnight batters. Bishnoi scored 97, while Rana was out for 87. Haryana finished the day 118 runs behind with 3 wickets in hand as Jayant Yadav was still at the crease.

Haryana trails HP by 118 runs with 3 wickets in hand

Madhya Pradesh vs Jammu and Kashmir – Jammu (MP wins)

Jammu and Kashmir showed a bit of fight as they began the day 54 for 7 and trailing MP by 156 runs. Sahil Lotra (66) and Aquib Nabi with (44) fought a bit before defending champs MP bowled them out for 193.

Madhya Pradesh won by an innings and 17 runs.

Punjab vs Chandigarh – Mohali

It was a slow moving day Chandigarh scored 248 runs for the loss of 4 wickets from their 90 overs. Arijit Pannu’s 121 was the highlight of the day. Gaurav Puri was not out on 76 as the game seems heading to a draw.

Chandigarh trails Punjab by 276 runs with 4 wickets in hand

Mizoram vs Meghalaya – Nadiad

Armed with a lead of 81, Mizoram were bowled out for 216 with Sreevats Goswami top scoring with 64. Rajesh Bishnoi was the lead wicket taker with 5/61. Chasing 298 to win, Meghalaya were 75 for 3 at stumps.

Meghalaya needs 223 runs to win with 7 wickets left

Gujarat vs Tripura – Agartala

Tripura were bowled out for 293 with an overall lead of 22 by the visitors. Tripura then struck to leave Gujarat to leave them at 82/5 for before a 99 run 6th wicket stand between Priyank Panchal and Karan Patel. The Gujarat captain was not out on 75 as the match is evenly poised going into the final day.

Gujarat leads by 182 runs with 4 wickets left

Goa vs Rajasthan – Porvorim

Starting the day at 493/8, Goa scored 54 more runs before declaring on 547/9. Rajasthan opener Yash Kothari scored 96 off 93 balls as Mahipal Lomror scored 63. Arjun Tendulkar picked 2 wickets with the ball to make his debut special.

Rajasthan trails Goa by 302 runs with 4 wickets left

Chhattisgarh vs Puducherry – Puducherry

Puducherry began the day at 96/5 still needing 214 runs to win and managed to score just 81 more before getting bowled out. Ajay Mandal was the lead wicket taker again with 6/56 to make his match tally an impressive 13/63

Chhattisgarh win the game by 132 runs

Nagaland vs Uttarakhand – Dimapur

The home team took a commanding lead of 107 thanks to the amazing 161 by Srikant Mundhe. It was the 5/47 by Swapnil Singh who did the job for Uttarakhand with the ball. At stumps, Uttarakhand had 127 from 30 with Priyanshu Khanduri on 52 and Kunal Chandela on 37.

Uttarakhand leads Nagaland by 25 runs with 9 wickets left

Baroda vs Odisha – Bhubaneshwar

Visiting side Baroda began the day at 77 for no loss and ended the day after scoring 339 runs during the day. The hero of the day was Shashank Rawat with 135 and Priyanshu Moliya with 113 not out.

Baroda trails Odisha by 41 runs with 5 wickets left

UP vs Bengal – Kolkata

Bengal bowlers bowled well to dismiss UP for 227 all out to give themselves a target of 257 to win. Rinku Singh with 89 and Akshdeep Nath with 53 were the top scorers for UP. At stumps Bengal were 156/2 with Koushik Ghosh on 69 and Anustup Majumdar on 44.

Bengal needs 101 runs to win with 8 wickets left

Andhra vs Mumbai – Vizag (Mumbai wins)

Mumbai began the day at 290/6 and were soon bowled out for 331 as Tanush Kotian scored 63 to take a lead of 93 runs. The Mumbai bowlers then bowled out Andhra for 131 which meant that Mumbai had a target of 39 to win which they achieved in the 7th over with the loss of 1 wicket.

Mumbai wins the match by 9 wickets

Assam vs Saurashtra – Guwahati

Saurashtra began the day 313/3 and were bowled out for 492 o. Jay Gohil scored an amazing 227 on his domestic debut. Riyan Parag was the star with the ball with 4/119. At stumps Assam were 115/1 with the game heading into the final day.

Assam trails by 91 runs with 9 wickets left

TN vs Hyderabad – Hyderabad

Starting at 203 for no loss, TN lost Jagadeesan early for 116, but Sai Sudarshan scored an hundred on debut and was out for 179. Baba Indrajith joined in the century parade scoring 115 not out as TN declared at 510/4 with a lead of 115. HYD openers saw out the day without any damage.

HYD trails TN by 87 runs with ten wickets left

Delhi vs Maharashtra – Pune

Azim Kazi with 124 and Ashay Palkar with 100 helped Maharashtra take a lead of 133, at stumps Delhi led by 100 with Yash Dhull scoring 57. Himmat Singh was not out 67 along with Lalit Yadav on 6.

Delhi leads by 100 runs with 5 wickets left