Dec 17, 2022, 10:51 IST

Ranji Trophy 2022: Round up of results from the final day of the 1st round of games


It was an action packed final day across India as the 1st round of games for the 2022 Ranji Trophy season was played. Here are the results

Sikkim vs Manipur – Rangpo

Needing 139 to win, Sikkim wrapped the win with an 8 wicket win on day 4. Nilesh Lamichaney scored 74 while Pankal Rawat scored 72* to take the team home.

Sikkim wins thw match by 8 wickets

Kerala vs Jharkhand – Ranchi

Sanju Samson led Kerala began the day with 9 wickets in hand and a lead of 195. Rohan Prem top scored with 74 as Kerala went for runs and declared on 187/7 giving Jharkhand a target of 323. The home team were all out for 237 with V. Chandran picking 5/57 and 4 wickets from Jalaj Saxena. For Jharkhand it was Kumar Kushagra who top scored with 92.

Kerala wins the match by 85 runs

Karnataka vs Services – Bengaluru

The day began with the home team starting with a lead of 133. Ravi Samarth scored 119 while Mayank Agarwal fell for 73. Karnataka declared on 253 giving railways a target of 297. The visitors scored 150 from 39 overs before the captains agreed for a draw. The top scorer was Anshul Gupta with 71* and Ravi Chauhan with 66*.

Match ends in a draw

Railways vs Vidarbha – Nagpur

Former champions Vidarbha had set Railways a target of 473 to win and the visiting railways team fell 194 runs short. Akshay Wakhare and Aditya Sarwate both picked 4 wickets each. For the visiting side it was the lower order batter Amit Mishra who stole the show with 119 from 167 balls after his team reduced to 120 for 8 at one stage.

Vidarbha wins the match by 194 runs

Haryana vs Himachal Pradesh – Rohtak

Resuming the day with a trail of 118 with 3 wickets in hand, Haryana were all out after scoring 30 more runs to their overnight total. Rishi Dhawan picked 2 wickets to first dismiss Anshul Kamboj and then Jayant Yadav to secure the win for his side.

 Himachal Pradesh wins the match by an innings and 88 runs

Punjab vs Chandigarh – Mohali

Chandigarh began the day at 310 for 6 and were soon bowled out for 389 with overnight batter Gaurav Puri scoring 131. Punjab then asked the visitors to follow on and reduced them to 92 for 6. Baltej Singh and Vinay Chaudhary 3 wickets each before stumps were drawn.

Mizoram vs Meghalaya – Nadiad

Meghalaya went into the final needing 223 runs with 7 wickets in hand while chasing 298 to win. Punit Bisht and S. Das both scored 53 before seeing their side fall to 245 for 8. But 36 not out by Dipu Sangma helped his side over the line to a big win.

Meghalaya win the match by 2 wickets

Gujarat vs Tripura – Agartala

The match between Gujarat vs Tripura ended in a draw after Gujarat set Tripura a target of 212. Gujarat declared their innings at 233 with Priyank Panchal scoring 85. Tripura crawled their way to 116 in 36 before the game was called off. S. Paul top scored with 55 not out.

Match ended in draw

Uttarakhand vs Nagaland – Dimapur

Starting the day with a lead of 25 with 9 wickets in hand, Uttarakhand scored 306 from 70 overs to give Nagaland a target of 200. Priyanshu Khanduri with 73 and Swapnil Singh with 88 not out were the top scorers. Swapnil Singh then did the damage with the ball picking 4/21 with Mayank Mishra’s 5/5 as Nagaland were all out for 25.

Uttarakhand wins the match by 174 runs

Baroda vs Odisha – Bhubaneshwar

Trailing Odisha by 41 runs and 5 wickets in hand, Baroda lost overnight batter Priyanshu Moliya for 118. But more misery awaited Odisha as Abhimanyu Rajput scored 102 and Bhargav Bhatt scored 87 as Baroda took the 1st innings lead and the match ended in a draw.

Match ends in a draw

Bengal vs UP – Kolkata

Chasing 257 to win, Bengal overnight needed 101 runs more with 2 wickets left. The win came despite losing 2 more wickets despite Koushik Ghosh falling for 69. Anustup Majumdar scored 83 while Manoj Tiwari stayed not out on 60 to guide his team home.

Bengal wins the match by 6 wickets.

Assam vs Saurashtra – Guwahati

The home team Assam started the day 91 runs behind Saurashtra with 9 wickets in hand. Riyan Parag top scored with 95 as S. Roy scored 75 and K. Saikia scored 60 to see the team through. Prerak Mankad picked3 wickets with the ball for the visitors.

The match ends in a draw

TN vs Hyderabad – Hyderabad

The match ended in a draw after the home team started the day trailing TN by 87 runs. Tamil Nadu bowled out Hyderabad for 258 to give themselves a target of 144. R. Sai Kishore picked 5/101 from 28 overs for the visiting side. Chasing 144, TN nearly pulled of an upset after scored 108 runs in 7 overs with Sai Sudarshan scoring 42 off 20 balls with 5 sixes, while Jagadeesan scored 59 off 22 balls with 8 sixes. The time though wasn’t of essence as the game ended in a draw.

The match ended in a draw

Maharashtra vs Delhi – Pune

It was a comprehensive win for Maharashtra as they handed Yash Dhull a loss on his captaincy debut. Delhi began the day with a lead of 100 with 5 wickets left, but were soon bowled out for 310. Himmat Singh top scoring yet again with 84, while Vaibhav Rawal scored 55. Chasing 178 to win, the home team got to the target in the 46th over. Pawan Shah scoring 87* off 132 balls while debutant Kaushal Tambe scored 65* off 114 balls to achieve the win.

Maharashtra wins the game by 9 wickets