Dec 10, 2022, 14:41 IST

Twitteratis labeled Shakib Al Hasan ‘dishonest’: Why?


On the cricket field, sometimes the audience’s eyes get astonished by seeing the fielding of the players. However, it becomes a part of discussion and the old- school statement also depicts the same that “Catches wins the Matches”.

However, in Today’s match between India vs Bangladesh sometimes, the opposite happened.

India has already lost the three match ODI series against Bangladesh, and is on a mission to pull one game out of it.

In the match, Ishan Kishan replaced Rohit Sharma as the captain injured his thumb while fielding during the second ODI.

The left-handed opener made his mark straightaway, unbeaten on 204 off 128 balls with 24 fours and nine sixes to his name at the time of writing. India, riding on him and Virat Kohli’s 85 on 76 balls, raced to 299/1 after 35.4 overs.

However, Ishan Kishan would not have reached the three-digit mark, if Shakib Al Hasan’s desperate attempt had become successful during the 20th over.  Kishan lofted Mehidy Hasan Miraz’s short-of-length delivery through deep mid-wicket.

Shakib ran to his right from and threw both his hands at it to pluck the ball from thin air after diving. The Bangladeshi all-rounder got what he wanted after grabbing the ball with his right hand, but while landing his dive, it went into his left hand with a drop in between.

The Bangladeshi player was not sure about what had occurred and told the umpires to double-check. Replays showed that the ball had clearly bounced before the ball exchanged hands, and gave Ishan not out.

Yet, Twitterati came up to criticize Shakib, claiming that the Bangladeshi must have admitted the dropped catch in the first place after making a mistake.