Mon, 14 Nov 2022

Vijay Hazare 2022: 200 and 7 wicket haul marks the highlight of 2nd round of games

The 2nd round of games in the Vijay Hazare Trophy was played on Sunday across India. There was some amazing cricket being played and you can read all the results here.

Sikkim vs Rajasthan – (RAJ win the game by 7 wickets)

Batting first, Sikkim scored mere 110 on the board with Ravi Bishnoi claiming 4 wickets and Rahul Chahar claiming 5 wickets. Chasing 111 to win, Abhijeet Tomar scored 50 ball 75* to help Rajasthan win with more than 32 overs to spare.

Assam vs Jharkhand – (JHA win the game by 8 wickets)

Vivekanand Tiwari’s 4 wicket haul and 2 wickets by Rahul Shukla meant that Sikkim were all out for 163. Shibshankar Roy was the top scorer with 36 for Assam. Utkarsh Singh’s 83* and Virat Singh’s 50 helped Jharkhand win the game with 15 overs to spare.

Meghalaya vs Delhi (DEL win the game by 8 wickets)

Punit Bisht came up against his former side and scored an impressive 80 ball 75, while opener Nongkhlaw scored 59. This helped Meghalaya reach a decent score of 216 on the board.

Chasing 217 to win, skipper Shikhar Dhawan scored yet another half century. Dhawan scored 54 off 42 balls, while Himmat Singh scored 85 and Yash Dhull was not out on 71 off 64 balls.

Karnataka vs Vidarbha – (KAR win the game by 66 runs)

Nikin Jose led the charge for Karnataka with 96 off 121 balls as Shreyas Gopal kept this good batting form with yet another half century to score 59. The duo powered Karnataka to an impressive 314 on the board.

Vidarbha at one stage were 51/7 but 104 by Akshay Karnewar and 57 by Darshan Nalkande helped Vidarbha stage a fight back only to lose the game. V. Kaushik was the main wicket taker for Karnataka with 4/27.

Nagaland vs Odisha (ODA win the game by 135 runs)

Odisha made light work of Nagaland after scoring 224 on the board thanks to 79 by R. Dhuper and 64 by Abhishek Raut. Tarani Sa picked 5/19 to bundle out Nagaland for mere 89 with Joshua Ozkum top scoring with 30.

Uttarakhand vs Punjab (PUN win the game by 6 wickets)

Avneesh Sudha gave Uttarakhand a bright start by scoring a brisk 51 while opening the batting. There were several other useful contributions as Uttarakhand scored 255 on the board.

Punjab at one point were struggling at 21/3 and later 100/4 but Mandeep Singh and Sanvir Singh ensured no further losses. Mandeep scored 100* off 111 balls while Sanvir scored 84* off 76 balls.

J and K vs Baroda (J and K win the game by 94 runs)

Baroda hurtled to yet another loss after another shabby show versus Jammu and Kashmir. Batting first, J and K scored 282 from the 49 overs , with fifties by Vivrant Sharma, Abdul Samad and Fazil Rashid.

Captain Ambati Rayudu was the top scorer for Baroda with 49 as Vivrant Sharma turned destroyer with the ball with 4 wicket haul. Baroda were bowled out for 188 as they lost their 2nd game in a row.

Services vs Mumbai ( Services win the game by 8 wickets)

Batting first, Mumbai scored a decent looking 264/9 on the board. Yashasvi Jaiswal top scored with 104 off 122 balls with 13 fours. Rahane (43) and Mulani with 48 were the other top scorers.

Chasing 263, Services openers Shubam Rohilla and Ravi Chauhan scored centuries each and added 231 for the first wicket. Rohilla scored 135 off 119 balls, while Chauhan scored 100 off 120 balls.

Bengal vs Mizoram (BEN wins the game by 9 wickets)

4 wickets by Pradipta Pramamika and 3 wickets by Puri helped Bengal bowl out Mizoram for a mere 57. 15 ball 26 ball R. Chadhary and 14 ball 25 by A. Pan helped Bengal reach the target in the 7th over.

Railways vs Puducherry (RLY win the game by 3 wickets)

Puducherry batted first and scored an impressive 289 on the board thanks to century by Paras Dogra. The veteran right hander scored 102 off 89 balls with 8 fours and 4 sixes, while Arun Karthik scored 80.

Chasing 290, Shivam Chaudharu scored 115 runs off 125 balls with 7 fours and 4 sixes while Upendra Yadav scored 65 balls 61. Railways won the game with 5 balls to spare.

Goa vs Bihar (Goa wins the game by 88 runs)

Darshan Misal was the star of the show as he scored an impressive 62 ball 107 not out with 8 fours and 5 sixes. This helped Goa reach a mammoth 329 on the board, Siddhesh Lad with 55 and Eknath Kerkar 63 were the other contributors.

Chasing 330, only Sachin Kumar with 78 and Surya Vansh with 64 could manage a fightback as Goa bowled out Bihar for 241.

Haryana vs Chhattisgarh – (HAR win the game by 35 runs VJD method)

Himanshu Rana the Haryana captain top scored with 54, while 30’s by Rahul Tewatia and Yashu Sharma and 20’s by Sumit Kumar and Jayant Yadav helped Harayana reach 222. Ajay Mandal picked 4 wickets with the ball for Chhattisgarh.

Harpreet Singh Bhatia with 66 off 82 balls with 6 fours and 2 sixes was the sole bright spark for the chasing team as they were bowled out for 171.

Saurashtra vs Manipur (SAU win the game by 282 runs)

Samarth Vyas made life miserable for Manipur as the 26 year scored an amazing 200 off 131 balls with 20 fours and 9 sixes. His fellow opener Harvik Desai scored a 107 ball 100 as Pujara scored 40 ball 48 to help Saurashtra reach 397.

D. Jadeja then destroyed Manipur with figures of 7/10 from his 10 overs with 6 maiden overs. Manipur were bowled out for 115 with Keishanbhagam scoring 55.

HP vs UP (HP win the game by 5 wickets)

Defending champs, HP bowled out UP for mere 139. Saurabh Kumar top scored with 139 as Rishi Dhawan picked 4 wickets. Chasing 140, Raghav Dhawan scored 61* as the champs scraped home despite losing flurry of wickets with 14 overs to spare.

Chandigarh vs Gujarat (CHD win the game by 6 wickets)

Priyank Panchal scored his 2nd successive century in 2 days for Gujarat to help them score 281. Panchal scored 100 off 114 balls, while Het Patel scored 59 and Saurav Chauhan scored 27 ball 46, and Piyush Chawla scored 28*.

Manan Vohra then tore the Gujarat bowlers as he scored 116 off 132 balls with 10 fours and 4 sixes. Arslan Khan scored 54 off 63 balls. After losing a few wickets, Ankit Kaushik with 68* and Gaurav Puri with 33* saw Chandigarh go through to an easy win.

Tripura vs Hyderabad (TRI win the game by 7 wickets)

TR Teja with 72 and 39 by R. Reddy helped HYD score 190 as 3 wickets by Abhijit Sarkar and Parvez Sultan did the trick for Tripura.

Bishal Ghosh then scored 102* off 111 balls with 9 fours and a six, while Deepak Khatri scored 67 off 74 balls to help Tripura stun HYD.

Kerala vs Arunachal Pradesh (KER win the game by 9 wickets)

4 wickets by N. Basil and 3 wickets by Sijomon helped Kerala bundle out AP for 102. A. Rohit was the top scorer for Arunachal with 59 off 96 balls.

R. Kunnummal top scored with 77 off just 28 balls with 13 fours and 3 sixes to help Kerala win by 9 wickets and 237 balls to spare

Andhra vs TN (TN win the game by 9 wickets)

Abhishek Reddy with 85 and Srikar Bharat’s 51 helped Andhra reach 205 run score. Chasing 206 to win, N. Jagadeesan scored 114* off 112 balls with 12 fours and 2 sixes . Sai Sudarshan and Jagadeesan added 177 runs for the 1st wicket in 29 overs with Sudarshan scoring 73 off 75 balls with 7 fours and 2 sixes. TN won the game with 107 balls to spare.