Oct 11, 2022, 20:26 IST

Watch! Aaron Finch caught abusing at the umpire during the 1st T20I against England


The clashes between Australia and England are always a spectacle to watch in any format of the game. The English are in Australia to play short 3 match T20 series before the start of the 2022 T20 World Cup. The first match was played at Perth and England ran out winners by 8 runs in a high scoring contest. The game was known for some high voltage clashes and controversial moments between the two teams.

The story as it happened –

England had made a good start to the game after put into bat first by Australia captain Finch. The pair of Buttler and Hales went after the Australian bowlers to add 132 for the first wicket.

The incident in question happened during the 9th over with Cameron Green bowling. The Australian all rounder bowled a short ball at Buttler who went for a cut shot. The ball went past his bat and Wade stumbled forward to take the catch.

Aaron Finch curses at the umpire –

The Australian team namely captain Finch and wicket keeper Wade went up for an appeal. Finch could be heard asking the umpire in order to go up for DRS, but the umpire remained steadfast and the decision stayed not out. Finch could be heard telling the umpire “it would have been f*****g nice to know in time”.

Finch handed a reprimand –

David Boon the former Australian batter and a match referee has handed a reprimand to the Australian skipper Finch. The ICC have charged Finch, with breach of level 1 of the ICC code of conduct. The law as per the level 1 is for the usage of obscene words during an international game. Finch has been given one demerit point after he admitted to usage of foul language.

Huge controversy towards the end of the game –

Matthew Wade has created a name for himself as a finisher and he was eyeing taking his side home chasing 209. The left hander got a short ball by Wood and it struck him on the helmet. The ball missed the stumps by a whisker but more drama followed. Wood went to catch the ball on his follow through but Wade put out his arm and stopped the bowler from doing it. The only thing that saved Wade was the fact that he wasn’t looking at the ball. This sent huge shockwaves across the cricketing world as there were talks of spirit of the game thrown in again.