Jan 29, 2023, 20:47 IST

Watch! Cricket fans go crazy on Twitter with Kuldeep Yadav’s β€˜Ball of the Year’


India and New Zealand locked horns on Sunday in the 2nd game of the 3 match series. New Zealand had won the 1st game at Ranchi by 21 runs to shock the Indian team. On the back of this win, the Kiwis had taken a 1-0 lead in the series. India were outsmarted by the visitors with the spin bowling, as Lucknow pitch promised more spin on offer. India needed a win to keep their home record going of not losing a bilateral series for a while.  

The story as it happened –

Santner won the toss and chose to bat first and went in with the same team. India made on change as Yuzvendra Chahal came in for Umran Malik. The fans were surprised to Arshdeep Singh still in the XI and likes of Mukesh Kumar and Prithvi Shaw warming the benches.

Daryl Mitchell left stunned –

Indian spinners got stuck in right from the start as the Kiwi batters found themselves all at sea. Kuldeep Yadav who has found his rhythm back was having a good time in his home ground. The last ball of the 10th over saw Yadav create a magical moment.

Kuldeep Yadav bowled one way outside off stump as Daryl Mitchell came into cover the line of the ball. The turn in the ball was such that, it spun in sharply and rattled the stumps. Mitchell who had scored an amazing 50 in the 1st game was stunned with the turn and went back to the hut for 8 off 13 balls with 1 four.

Indian spinners dominate New Zealand –

Yuzvendra Chahal drew 1st blood when he had Finn Allen bowled for 11 while the Kiwi went for a reverse sweep. The reverse sweep was the cause of downfall for 2 more batters as both Devon Conway and Glenn Phillips were out playing the shot. Conway was caught behind off Sundar for 11, while Hooda bowled Phillips for 5.

At the time of writing, New Zealand were 81/6 in the 18th over with Santner and Sodhi batting.

Twitter reacts –

The Indian cricket fans were comparing Kuldeep Yadav to Shane Warner and the dismissal of Mitchell was called the Ball of the Year. You can read all the tweets below.