Dec 2, 2022, 20:54 IST

Watch! Jaydev Unadkat breaks down in tears after winning the Vijay Hazare Trophy


It was a spectacular day at the Narendra Modi Stadium at Ahmedabad on Friday. The venue was playing host to the final of the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022 between Saurashtra and Maharashtra. Both the teams had played some amazing cricket during the course of the tournament to make this far.

Saurashtra had won the 2019/2020 Ranji season, while Maharashtra came into the game with a view to win their 1st domestic title in a while. The form of Ruturaj Gaikwad was the major factor for the confidence of the Maharashtra team.

The story as it happened –

Jaydev Unadkat won the toss and chose to bowl first and make use of the conditions. In most of the games so far, Saurashtra has chased down the totals. The batting side were without the services of Rahul Tripathi for the game.

Ruturaj Gaikwad gives Maharashtra a good start –

Gaikwad was partnered by Pavan Shah to open the batting as the duo put on 8 for the 1st wicket. Shah was the 1st to go run out for 4 by Chirag Jani. SS Bachav then added 66 for the 2nd wicket as Bachav was out for 27 caught by Jani off Parth Bhut.

Captain Ankit Bawne who was in good form before the final was out for 16 with the score reading 105. Bawne was sent back to the hut by his opposite number Unadkat caught behind by Sheldon Jackson.

Yet another ton for Gaikwad as Chirag Jani’s hattrick evens the odds –

Riding on his good form this season with the bat, Ruturaj Gaikwad scored 108 off 131 balls with 7 fours and 4 sixes. Just when he seemed destined for another huge score, Mankad and Unadkat combined to run him out.

From there Maharashtra lost wickets at regular intervals to lose then plot. The 49th over was bowled by Chirag Jani, who castled Navale and Hangargekar before trapping Vicky Ostwal LBW to get his hattrick. This meant Maharashtra could only score 248/9 on the board.

Sheldon Jackson scores an amazing century to get the title to Rajkot –

Chasing 249 to win, Harvik Desai and Sheldon Jackson began well by adding 125 on the board. The duo were severe on every bad ball bowled to them as they were keen to bat the opposition out of the game. Desai was out for 50 against the run of play falling to Mukesh Choudhary.

The left arm seamer struck again two balls later when he had Jay Gohil out for a 2nd ball duck. Ostwal then got the wicket of Vyas for 12 and Vasavada for 15, before Bachav castled Mankad for 1 to leave Saurashtra at 192/5 still needing 57 runs from 10 overs.

Saurashtra skipper overcome with emotions -

Jackson and Jani then combined to take the team home with 21 balls to spare, as Jani was not out on 30 off 25 balls. The star of the show was Jackson as he scored 133 off 136 balls with 12 fours and 5 sixes. Once the winning runs were hit, captain Jaydev Unadkat was seen kneeling on the turf and looking caught up with emotions.

(Pictures courtesy of Star Sports and Disney Hotstar)