Oct 2, 2022, 10:18 IST

Watch! Sachin Tendulkar comes up with a priceless reaction as Naman Ojha scores a ton


Road Safety World Series 2022 came to an exciting end as the tournament saw a re-run of the 2021 final. India and Sri Lankan legends faced off in the 2022 final and the Indian legends came out winners by 33 runs to retain their crown. The final match of the tournament was played on Saturday at the Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International stadium at Raipur.

Sachin Tendulkar has an amazing reaction to Naman Ojha’s ton –

India won the toss and chose to bat first, and it was wicket keeper Naman Ojha who did the trick again. Fresh after scoring unbeaten 90 in the semi finals, the 38 year old scored 108 off 71 balls in the final and carried his bat. Ojha got to his ton with a six off Ishan Jayaratne and bowed down towards the dressing room couple of times. This got the attention of Sachin Tendulkar who had a smile on his face and asked him to keep batting.

India legends score an impressive 195 –

Batting first, India were rocked early when Sachin Tendulkar fell for a first ball duck to Kulasekara. The bowler had dismissed Brian Lara as well just a few days ago. Suresh Raina scored 4, before Vinay Kumar batting at 4 scored 36. Yuvraj Singh and Irfan Pathan scored 19 and 11 each as Naman Ojha kept piling on the runs at the other end. Stuart Binny scored 8 off 2 with 2 fours as Indian legend scored 195 for 6.

Indian bowlers leave the Sri Lankan legends reeling –

Chasing 196 to win, Vinay Kumar had Sanath Jayasuriya back in the hut when he bowled him for 5. Rajesh Pawar had Munaweera stumped by Ojha for 8. The biggest wicket for the Indian team was picked by Rahul Sharma when he had Dilshan stumped for 11. Binny got the 4th wicket when he had Upul Tharanga caught behind for 10. The fall of Asela Gunaratne for 19 and Jeevan Mendis for 20 had the Sri Lankans in the rope at 85/6.

Sri Lankan lower tries to mount a late fightback but falls short –

Ishan Jayaratne and Mahela Udawatte added 63 runs for the 7th wicket in mere 5 overs. Jayaratne in particular was the most aggressive batter as he scored 51 off mere 22 balls with 4 fours and 4 sixes. Udawatte scored 26 off 19 before he fell to Mithun caught by Irfan Pathan. The Karnataka seamer struck again when he had Isuru Udana bowled for a 1st ball duck. The last stand of hope was gone when Jayaratne was trapped LBW by Vinay Kumar. The very next ball it was all over as Kumar had Dhammika Prasad out LBW for a 1st ball duck.

Indian legends won the game by 33 runs to take home the title for the 2nd time in a row as Sachin Tendulkar was seen smiling and happy at the title winning feat 2nd time in a row.