Sep 10, 2022, 18:16 IST

Watch! Sachin Tendulkar roll back the clock ahead of the 2nd season of Road Safety World Series


Indian Cricket fans might be sad at the prospect of not seeing the Indian national cricket team play the final of Asia Cup 2022. The frowns though have turned upside down as they get to witness the God of Cricket, Sachin Tendulkar pad up once again.

The 49 year old will be leading the Indian legends once again to defend the Road Safety World Series title. The first game will witness Indian legends take on South African legends on 10th September at the Green Park Stadium at Kanpur.

Sachin Tendulkar seen playing crisp strokes in the nets –

It is nearly a year since, Sachin Tendulkar was last seen playing for Indian legends in the Road Safety World Series. The 49 year old was the captain, when India beat Sri Lanka in the final to win the title. A twitter handle by the name Sachin Tendulkar Fan Club posted a short video clip. The clip showed the master blaster Sachin Tendulkar in his full poise batting in the nets. Nothing seems changed as his batting pose, his head position and elbow were all the same.


Suresh Raina joins the fray –

Earlier this week, former Indian world cup winner and multiple time IPL winner with Chennai Super Kings, Suresh Raina joined the Indian legends. Raina had decided to retire from domestic cricket in a bid to play this league and also try his hand in foreign leagues. The 35 year old will join former team mates like Yuvraj Singh, Irfan and Yusuf Pathan, Harbhajan Singh and also recently retired Rahul Sharma.

India and South Africa begin the 2nd season –

Indian legends begin the campaign with a game against South Africa led by Jonty Rhodes. The Indian team then faces off against West Indies legends on 14th in a game which will pit Tendulkar and Lara face to face. India then face off NZ and Bangladesh on 18th and 21st before finishing the group phase against England. One of the curious things to have taken place is that India and Australia do not face each other in the group phase.

Indian squad for the Road Safety World Series –

S. Tendulkar, Y. Singh, I. Pathan, Y.Pathan, H. Singh, S. Raina, M. Patel, S. Badrinath, N. Ojha, P. Ojha, M. Gony, R. Sharma, V. Kumar, R. Pawar, A. Mithun and S. Binny.

Matches to be telecasted live on Sports 18, Colors Cineplex, Colors Cineplex Superhits and Voot App.