Jun 16, 2023, 16:50 IST

Ashes 2023: Twitter reacts to Zak Crawley’s blazing start to Ashes series


Australia and England have the oldest rivalry in the history of cricket. While there is the India and Pakistan rivalry or the India versus Australia rivalry, but nothing beats the age old feud between England and Australia. Last time England won the Ashes was in 2015 under Alastair Cook. The Australians since then have won three times under Steve Smith, Tim Paine and Pat Cummins.

The story as it happened –

Ben Stokes won the toss and chose to bat first as the sun beat down on Edgbaston. The English team had already named their XI a day before the match could start. The Australians went into the game with one change as Hazlewood came in for Mitchell Starc. The rest of the team was the same that beat India in the World Test Championship final last week.

Ben Stokes is shocked with the start to the series –

Last time England and Australia played each other, Mitchell Starc had left Rory Burns stunned by dismissing him for a 1st ball duck. The anticipation in the crowd was high as Pat Cummins ran in to bowl and bowled to Zak Crawley as the tall English opener slammed his foot and hit a crunching drive for a four off the first ball of the series. even captain Ben Stokes was shocked with the start and the quality of shot played.

England get off to a quick start before Hazlewood strikes –

Ben Duckett and Zak Crawley have been the English openers since Brendon McCullum took over. Ben Duckett had scored a career best test ton in his last game against Ireland. The left hander from Durham was looking good on 12 off 10 balls with 2 fours. That’s when Hazlewood broke the 22 run stand caught behind by Alex Carey as Duckett went for a cut shot close to his body.

England XI – Z. Crawley, B. Duckett, O. Pope, J. Root, H. Brook, B. Stokes, J. Bairstow, M. Ali, S. Broad, O. Robinson and J. Anderson

Australia XI – D. Warner, U. Khawaja, M.Labuschagne, S. Smith, T. Head, C. Green, A. Carey, P. Cummins, N. Lyon, S. Boland, J. Hazlewood

Twitter reacts –

The blazing start by Crawley had every cricket fan up on his feet and you can read th3e best reactions on Twitter.