Jul 30, 2023, 18:09 IST

Indian Cricket: BCCI to hold 2024 TATA IPL mini-auctions on this date


Rohit Sharma and his team are currently playing the ODI series in the West Indies. The 2nd game on Saturday saw the home team win by 6 wickets. This now means that the series is level at 1-1 with final game to be played on Tuesday at the Brian Lara Stadium. This was West Indies first win against India after 9 games. Post the West Indies tour, India is set to be busy with series in Ireland, followed by the Asia Cup. The biggest test awaits when the Indian team is set to play the 2023 ICC ODI World Cup to be held starting from 5th October.

BCCI looking to hold IPL Mini auctions earlier?

As per a report from InsideSport, the Board of Control for Cricket in India is looking to host the 2024 TATA IPL mini- auctions early. The reason for this because they do not want the participants, mostly the foreign contingent to miss Christmas with their families back home. Last year, the 2023 TATA IPL Mini Auctions were held on 23rd December.

BCCI source has his say –

Speaking to InsideSport one source from the BCCI said “the focus now is on the world cup and once every detail is taken care of, we will move towards IPL. We will decide the date after the world cup. It is most likely in the 3rd or 4th week of December. But it will be discussed at the IPL GC meeting later. It will not be on Christmas Eve for sure. We will try to look at a comfortable date for all”

2024 IPL mini auctions could be held at a different venue –

Last year, Kerala hosted the 2023 IPL mini-auctions which saw records being broken. This year, as per the sources speaking to InsideSport, Ahmedabad, Mumbai, Jaipur or Kolkata could be looked at as a venue. The possibility of staging the auction in Kerala is also a possibility.

In the 2023 TATA IPL auctions, Sam Curran, Ben Stokes and Cameron Green saw huge sums of money being forked out. Curran was bought by Punjab, while Stokes and Green went to Chennai and Mumbai. Ben Stokes who played a handful of games for CSK, later saw his team win the title under MS Dhoni for the 5th time.