Jun 23, 2023, 18:07 IST

Indian Cricket: Ravindra Jadeja posts a tweet on the ten-year anniversary of winning the Champions Trophy


India on Friday looked back with great pride as they celebrated ten years of winning the 2013 ICC Champions trophy. It was the 3rd ICC title under the captaincy of MS Dhoni who had become the first ever skipper to win all 3 white ball titles at that point of time. India had beaten England in rain-curtailed match and won the game by a close margin. One of the architects of the triumph was none other than Ravindra Jadeja who was then becoming a key member of the MS Dhoni led side.

Jadeja tweets on the anniversary –

MS Dhoni had led a very young India team to the pedestal of ICC glory in 2013 during the Champions Trophy. It was the same as he did in 2007 when India won the inaugural World T20 title in South Africa.

Ravindra Jadeja on Friday took to Twitter and posted a picture of himself holding the prizes he had won during the tournament. Jadeja took to Twitter and wrote “Golden Boy”. Jadeja was the leading wicket taker in the tournament with 12 wickets which included a five wicket haul against West Indies at Oval.

Re-cap of the big win –

Constant rains had delayed the start of the game, it was soon a 20 over game as compared to the 50 overs that were supposed to be played. England, wont the toss and put India into bat as India the defending World Champions scored 130 from their 20 overs. Virat Kohli was the lead scorer with 43, with Shikhar Dhawan scoring 31 and Ravindra Jadeja scoring 33.

Chasing 131 to win, England were reduced to 46/4 in the 9th over by the Indian bowling attack. Eoin Morgan and Ravi Bopara then added 64 runs for the 5th wicket. The equation was 21 needed off 15 balls. That’s when Ishant Sharma got 2 wickets in 2 balls to peg the English team back as India ran out winners by 6 runs.

India still waiting for their next ICC title –

Since the title win in 2013, the Indian team hasn’t won any ICC title till date under Virat Kohli or Rohit Sharma. India twice made it to the semi finals of the World T20 in 2016 and 2022. India were also twice semi finalist in the 50 Over world cup in 2015 and 2019, while losing to Pakistan in the finals of the Champions trophy in 2017.