Jul 13, 2023, 21:40 IST

Indian Cricket: Watch! Wicket keeper pushes batter to claim a catch during TNPL 2023 final


Tamil Nadu Premier League 2023 season is over and the winners of the title are Lyca Kovai Kings. The Kings team beat Nellai Royal Kings by a whopping margin of 104 runs to claim the title. It was a huge moment for the Shah Rukh Khan led side who had played an amazing brand of cricket throughout the tournament. The final match which was played on Wednesday was one sided affair.

The story so far –

The final game of the TNPL 2023 was between Lyca Kovai Kings against Nellai Royal Kings in a royal contest. Kovai Kings were the number 1 team in the league phase of the tournament and had beaten Dindigul Dragons in the play off games. Nellai Royal Kings on the other hand finished 3rd and had beaten the Dragons in the 2nd play off game. Kovai Kings won the toss and chose to bat first in the big game.

A huge push for the catch –

Chasing 206 to win, the Royal Kings had their backs against the wall. Rithik Eeswaran was facing Subrayan and went for a huge slog. The left hander could only mistime the ball and Kovai Kings keeper Suresh Kumar did the rest. The catch though wasn’t without drama, as Suresh Kumar was seen giving Eeswaran a bit of a push before completing the catch.

Lyca Kovai Kings power their way to 205 –

Batting first, Lyca Kovai Kings proved their top billing as they scored a massive 205 in the final. Suresh Kumar scored top scored with 57 off 33 balls with 4 fours and 3 sixes. He was supported by Mukilesh who scored 51 off 40 balls with fours and a six. The final push to the innings was given by Ateeq Ur Rehman who scored 50 off 21 balls with 8 fours and a six.

Subrayan spins Kovai Kings to a huge win –

Chasing 206 to win, Royals Kings were all out for 101 with only 4 batters reaching double figures. Arun Karthik top scored with 27, as Subrayan picked 4/ 21 from his four overs. Captain of Kovai Kings picked 3 wickets as the other bowlers picked a wicket each.