Apr 26, 2023, 20:33 IST

IPL 2023: Twitter reacts to Harbhajan Singh’s comments over the WTC final team selections


Indian fans on Tuesday morning got the news that the team for the World Test Championship final has been announced. There was just one change as Ajinkya Rahane made his way to the team. The 34 year old replaced the injured Shreyas Iyer as Surya Kumar Yadav wasn’t picked. Wicket keeper KS Bharat kept his spot as did former vice-captain of the team KL Rahul, as the debate over the wicket keeping slot has now begun.

Harbhajan wants KL Rahul to keep wickets in the WTC final –

Former Indian spin legend, Harbhajan Singh has come up with a suggestion  for the Indian team. KL Rahul had a series to forget against Australia where he failed to score runs in the first two tests. Rahul was replaced by Shubman Gill as India won the series with a 2-1 margin.

Harbhajan Singh states his reason for KL Rahul’s inclusion –

Speaking on his YouTube Channel, the former Indian world cup winner said “I will have KL Rahul over KS Bharat because he already has a ton to his name on this ground. He will have a good feeling playing here. Send a message to him to start keeping. With KL Rahul, he will strengthen the batting. I mean, Bharat can keep there, but Rahul adds more strength to the batting. If Rahul plays, you can also swap the positions between Jadeja and KL Rahul.”

Harbhajan goes in with Jadeja as the specialist spinner –

Speaking about the other members of the team, Harbhajan Singh has gone in with Ravindra Jadeja as the sole spinner. Jadeja has been in tremendous form with the bat and ball in test cricket lately.

Harbhajan has excluded the veteran Ravichandran Ashwin and in-form player Axar Patel from the 11. Former Indian spinner has gone in with 4 man pace attack as he named his team to take on Australia. The match will be played at the Oval cricket ground as India aim to win their 1st ICC title in over 10 years.

Harbhajan Singh’s playing XI –

Rohit Sharma, S. Gill, C. Pujara, V. Kohli, A. Rahane, KL Rahul, R. Jadeja, S. Thakur, U. Yadav, M. Siraj and M. Shami