Apr 7, 2023, 21:13 IST

IPL 2023: Watch! Fan tweets his suspicion on Sunil Narine’s action after he dismissed Virat Kohli


Kolkata was the venue on Thursday as Royal Challengers Bangalore took on Kolkata Knight Riders. It was after 4 years the hallowed turf of Eden Gardens was hosting its home team in an IPL game. The entire crowd was electric as they came out to watch their favorite stars. Bangalore came into the game with a win over Mumbai, while Kolkata had lost the first game to Punjab.

The story as it happened –

Faf Du Plessis won the toss and chose to bowl first as he wanted to put the under pressure Kolkata under the pump. David Willey came into the team replacing Reece Topley while Suyash Sharma made his debut for Kolkata.

Fan questions Sunil Narine and his bowling action–

Chasing 205 to win, Royal Challengers Bangalore and its fans were hoping for a repeat of the heroics from their opener yet again. Nitish Rana got spin early into the game and that turned the game. Sunil Narine got the wicket of Kohli as he was bowled for 21.

The wicket of Kohli had one particular fan taking to Twitter and asking the legality of Sunil Narine’s action. The fan in question with the name Pradyoth had a meltdown after Kohli’s wicket and he tweeted “I’ll never get how this is allowed. What’s the match referee and umpires doing”.

Thakur and Rinku show with the bat  –

Kolkata at one point were down in the dumps at 89/5 after Andre Russell fell for a first ball duck. In walked Shardul Thakur and he played one of the best innings of the season. Thakur added 93 for the 6th wicket with Rinku Singh in mere 45 balls, and scored his 1st half century. Thakur was out for 68 off 29 balls with 9 fours and 3 sixes, while Rinku Singh scored 46 off 33 balls with 2 fours and 3 sixes as Kolkata scored 204.

Spin trio sinks RCB –

Forgotten Indian spinner Varun Chakravarthy did the damage with the ball as he picked 4/15 from his 3.4 overs. Varun got the wickets of Faf Du Plessis for 23 followed by Maxwell for 4 and Harshal Patel for a duck before getting the final wicket of Akash Deep for 17. Narine picked 2 while, debutant Suyash Sharma picked 3 as Thakur picked the wicket of Bracewell. Bangalore were all out for 123 as Kolkata won the game by 81 runs.