Jun 14, 2023, 19:22 IST

TNPL 2023: Twitter reacts as Abhishek Tanwar concedes 18 runs in one ball


Tamil Nadu Premier League 2023 season began on Tuesday as more T20 action come our way. The 2nd game of the tournament saw Salem Spartans take on Chennai Super Gillies. The match was played at Coimbatore as Chennai Super Gillies won the toss and opted to bat first. The entire game saw action courtesy of Abhishek Tanwar who gave away 18 runs off the last ball of the 20th over.

Abhishek Tanwar and his shocking bowling –

Salem Spartans bowling Abhishek Tanwar had given away only 8 runs from the five balls bowled in the 20th over. Sanjay Yadav got a no ball from Tanwar and the next free hit went for a six, which was also a no ball.

Spartans were shocked when Tanwar bowled another no ball and got 2 more runs. The following free hit was a wide ball. 12 runs had already come in the last ball and Sanjay Yadav swung the last ball for a six to claim 18 runs off a single ball. The over saw 26 runs in the single over.

Chepauk score 217 from their 20 overs –

N. Jagadeesan and Pradosh Paul opened the batting for the Chepauk Super Gillies. The openers added 91 runs for the 1st wicket scoring at over 10 runs per over. The first wicket fell when Jagadeesan was out for 35 off 27 balls with 4 fours and a six. Baba Aparjith and Paul then added 73 runs for the 2nd wicket in 41 balls.

Paul scored 88 off 55 balls with 12 fours and a six, while Aparjith scored 29 off 19 balls with a four and 2 sixes. Yadav stayed not out on 31 off 12 balls with 2 fours and 3 sixes as Chepuak Super Gillies reached 217 from their 20 overs.

Super Gillies restricted to 165 –

Chasing 218 to win, Muhammad Adnan Khan was the top scorer as he was not out on 47 off 15 balls. His innings had a four and 6 sixes with none of the other batters able to make any substantial score. Akash Sumra with 24 and Kaushik Gandhi with 23 were the other contributors with the bat. Baba Aparjith, Rocky Bhasker and Arul picked 2 wickets each. Harish Kumar, Rahil Shah and Silambarasan picked a wicket each.

Twitter reacts –

The Indian cricket fans were shocked by the last ball of Abhishek Tanwar and you can read all the reactions below.