Jun 15, 2023, 17:51 IST

TNPL 2023 : Watch! Ravi Ashwin leaves everyone surprised by reviewing the 3rd umpire decision


Tamil Nadu Premier League 2023, may be three matches old but the drama in those 3 games are second to none. We began with the blazing blade of Sai Sudarshan in the 1st game. Then it was the turn of Abhishek Tanwar who gave away 18 runs off 1 ball in the 2nd game of the season. Game 3 saw more drama as Ravichandran Ashwin surprised everyone on the field and the fans watching the game on television. What happened on the field of play hasn’t occurred in cricket before.

The story as it happened–

The incident in question happened in the final ball of the 13th over. Ashwin was bowling to Rajkumar who went for a wild slog and was caught behind, and was given out by the umpire. The batter decided to go for a review and it was seen that the bat had hit the ground and not made any contact with the ball and the decision was reversed to not out.

Ashwin opts for a review against the 3rd umpire’s decision

Just as the 3rd umpire was audibly heard telling the on field umpire to reverse the call, Ashwin had already decided to go for DRS. The on-field umpire agreed and sent it back upstairs. The third umpire went again through the protocols only for the decision to stand and leave the veteran off spinner flummoxed.

Dindigul spinners restrict Trichy batting unit–

Speaking about the game, Trichy won the toss and chose to bat as they could only score 119. The top scorer was captain GS Raju who scored 48 off 41 balls with 4 fours and 2 sixes. The next highest scorer was Rajkumar with 39 off 22 balls with a four and 4 sixes.

Ashwin who did not play the WTC final picked 2/26 from his 4 overs, while Varun Chakravarthy picked 3/21 from his 4 overs. Subodh Bhati picked 2/8, as Sarvana Kumar with 2 and Arun with 1 wicket were the other contributors with the ball.

Dindigul coast to an easy win –

Chasing 120 for a win, Dindigul got to the target with 33 balls to spare. Shivam Singh began with 46 off 30 balls with 6 fours and 3 sixes. Captain Baba Indrajith scored 22, while Aditya Ganesh with 20 and Subodh Bhati with 19 saw the team through an easy 6 wicket win.