Aug 7, 2023, 09:50 IST

Watch! Sri Lankan teammates get into a nasty spat during the LPL 2023


Sri Lanka is seeing some of the best talents come and play during the 2023 Lanka Premier League. The tournament has seen some memorable moments already with the bat and ball and in the field. On Sunday, it was the first double header weekend for the Lanka Premier League 2023 season. The first game of the day saw Dambulla Aura take on Colombo Strikers at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium.

The story so far –

Dambulla and Colombo both had won just one game coming into the contest. A win for either team will give them a chance to move to the 2nd spot in the table. Dambulla had already played 3 games while this was Colombo’s third game of the season. Niroshan Dickwella won the toss and chose to bowl first.

Kusal Mendis and Chamika Karunaratne in a heated face-off –

Dambulla Aura saw Colombo needing 31 runs off the last over. That’s when Karunaratne hit a six to make it 25 off 5 balls. The next ball yielded just a single as it was soon 24 off 4 balls. That’s when the entire scene unfolded between Sri Lankan teammates Kusal Mendis and Karunaratne.

Apparently, Kusal Mendis wasn’t happy with Karunaratne coming in the way when he was about to collect the ball. This did not please Kusal Mendis who charged towards the all rounder and gave him his piece of mind. Before the matter could escalate Kusal Mendis was pulled off and taken away.

Kusal Mendis top scores as Dambulla reach 192 –

Put into bat first, Dambulla reach 192 from their 20 overs. Pathirana struck first when he dismissed Fernando for 12. The second wicket pair of Mendis and Samarawickrama then took the game away from Colombo as they added 120 runs. Mendis top scored with 87 off 46 balls with 4 fours and 8 sixes.

Samarawickrama on the other hand scored 59 off 35 balls with 7 fours and a six. Dhananjaya De Silva with 15 off 7 balls then helped give the innings the final touches. Pathirana picked 3 wickets while Naseem Shah picked 2 wickets.

Colombo fall short by 10 runs –

Chasing 193 to win, Niroshan Dickwella was out for 16 off just 8 balls as Babar Azam with 41 and Pathum Nissanka with 22 steadied the ship. The top scorer was N. Fernando with 56 not out off 39 balls with 4 fours and 4 sixes. Azam’s 41 came off 24 balls with 7 fours. Hayden Kerr and De Silva picked a wicket each while Noor Ahmed picked 2/34.